Model comparison · Flash tier

Qwen3.8-Flash vs DeepSeek V4 Flash 0731

Both are flash-tier models released on or after 26 August 2026 with 1M+ context. DeepSeek V4 Flash 0731 is 5.3× cheaper on input and 6.3× on output; Qwen3.8-Flash ships verified multimodal and agentic benchmarks. Pick by workload: cheapest inference on DeepSeek; multimodal flash on Qwen.

Decision snapshot

Both models are flash-tier with 1M+ context windows, released in the same fortnight (Qwen3.8-Flash on 26 Aug 2026, DeepSeek V4 Flash 0731 on 31 Jul 2026). The decision is between price and verified multimodal/agentic capability.

Decision factorQwen3.8-FlashDeepSeek V4 Flash 0731
Input $ / 1M tokens$0.16$0.030 (5.3× cheaper)
Output $ / 1M tokens$0.47$0.075 (6.3× cheaper)
Context window1,000,000 tokens1,310,720 tokens
Multimodal (image + text input)Image + textNot stated
Independent agentic benchmarksVerified via MarkTechPost / The DecoderPending independent reproduction
Tool-use track record on Claude Code / coding agentsYes — flash-tier tunedYes — same tier
LicenseHosted APIHosted API (0731)
Best whenMultimodal flash at $0.16 inputCheapest flash tier with 1.3M context

Pricing anchor (1:3 blended)

At a 1:3 input/output ratio, Qwen3.8-Flash blends to $0.238 / 1M tokens and DeepSeek V4 Flash 0731 blends to $0.041 / 1M tokens. Change the ratio in any pricing sheet to test the workload.

Ready to test the workflow?

Create account & add credits

When neither is the right answer

For the hardest desktop automation tasks (OSWorld 2.0 binary ≈ 19.4) or scripted RPA, both models trail Claude Opus 4.6. Pick a frontier model instead.

Frequently asked questions

Is Qwen3.8-Flash cheaper than DeepSeek V4 Flash 0731?

No. Qwen3.8-Flash is 5.3× more expensive on input and 6.3× more expensive on output. The premium buys verified multimodal image + text input and an independently reproduced agentic benchmark track record.

Is DeepSeek V4 Flash 0731 multimodal?

Not stated. DeepSeek does not publish multimodal or vision benchmarks for the 0731 checkpoint as of 27 August 2026. If you need image + text input, Qwen3.8-Flash is the flash-tier alternative with that capability verified.

Can I try Qwen3.8-Flash before integrating it?

Use the OneInfer Qwen3.8-Flash launcher to open a prepared prompt in the authenticated playground. Availability is checked against the current model catalog.

How should I treat benchmark claims?

Check the provenance label and harness version. Vendor-reported and independently verified results are deliberately shown as different evidence classes.

Put Qwen3.8-Flash to work

Fund a controlled evaluation, start with a prepared prompt, and measure quality and cost on your own workload.